Montana's 2020 election
Montana's 2020 election
The Montana Free Press guide

U.S. Senate

One of Montana’s two representatives in the upper chamber of the U.S. Congress, elected to a six-year term. Incumbent Steve Daines is seeking re-election. Montana’s other senator, Jon Tester, is next up for re-election in 2024.




Key coverage in the race for U.S. Senate

Race profile: The Trump and COVID show

Montana's Senate race pits incumbent Trump stalwart Steve Daines versus two-term Democratic Gov. Steve Bullock. The results may hinge on presidential performance and pandemic response — and could change the face of the upper chamber of Congress.

Shared State: Ep. 4 — The quiet beauty of our state

How one aspect of our shared environment, public lands‚ is playing out in Montana’s U.S. Senate race.

Montana PBS debate: U.S. Senate

Video of Daines and Bullock at their Montana PBS debate Sept. 28
Follow MTFP's ongoing election coverage with our free newsletter

Campaign finance

As reported in quarterly filings. Data current through 10/14/2020.
Total raised in race
Total spent
CandidateTotal raisedIndividual contributionsCommittee contributionsSelf-financing
Steve Bullock (D)$43,388,861$40,391,677$2,977,239$0
Steve Daines (R-INCUMBENT)$25,700,101$21,238,994$4,400,623$0
Note: Fundraising components in table don't necessarily sum to exact total because of miscellaneous receipts and accounting adjustments. Self-financing includes candidate contributions and campaign loans.
Source: Campaign finance reports filed with the Federal Election Commission.

Primary results

Vote totals from Montana's June 2, 2020 primary election.
GOP U.S. Senate primary
CandidateVotes counted% of voteVotes behind
STEVE DAINES192,93588.0%0
JOHN BRIAN DRISCOLL13,9436.4%178,992
DANIEL R LARSON12,3185.6%180,617
Dem. U.S. Senate primary
CandidateVotes counted% of voteVotes behind
STEVE BULLOCK144,94595.5%0
JOHN MUES3,7402.5%141,205
MIKE KNOLES3,1642.1%141,781

Stay tuned for more

We'll be updating this page with new information through Election Day in November 2020.

Have ideas about additional coverage that would be helpful as you consider your vote? Tell us at