2023 Capitol Tracker

The lawmakers, bills and votes of the 68th Montana Legislature

A digital guide by | Support this work
Last update: 10:34 PM Feb 3, 2023
πŸ“‘ Key billsπŸ—‚ All billsπŸ”Ž Find a billπŸ”Ž Find a lawmaker🏑 Your districtπŸ—“ CalendarπŸ“ What's happenedπŸ™‹ How to participate
πŸ› House
GOP-held 68-32
πŸ› Senate
GOP-held 34-16
πŸ–‹ Governor
Greg Gianforte (R)
Sen. Shannon O'Brien, SD 46

Sen. Shannon O'Brien

Second-session Democrat from Missoula

Representing Senate District 46
Missoula, East Missoula, Seeley Lake

O'Brien previously served in the Montana Senate in 2021.

Bills sponsored

πŸ“‹ SJ 7: Joint resolution recognizing Ireland on St. Patrick's Day
Shannon O'Brien (D)πŸ“ƒ Bill text
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SB 8: Revise transformational learning program laws
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SB 10: Clarify school finance laws related to general fund levies
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SB 15: Provide for all ages homeowner and renter tax credit
🚫1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SB 69: Clarify school transportation laws related to passenger vehicles
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SB 70: Revise the Quality Educator Loan Assistance Program
βœ…1st Cmte.
Showing 6 of 6
Capitolized newsletter
Expert reporting and insight from the Montana Capitol, emailed Tuesdays and Fridays.

Key bill votes

Most recent votes on bills identified as notable by MTFP staff.
O'Brien (D)OutcomeRepublicansDemocratsMotion
YESY (37-12)Y (34-0)N (3-12)
SB 85 – Do Pass
YESY (47-2)Y (34-0)Y (13-2)
SB 115 – Do Pass
NOY (34-15)Y (34-0)N (0-15)
SB 121 – Do Pass
NOY (28-21)Y (28-6)N (0-15)
SB 154 – Do Pass
NOY (33-17)Y (33-1)N (0-16)
SB 191 – Do Pass

Floor vote statistics

Calculations based on 342 Senate floor votes in 2023 involving bills.
πŸ₯‡ 80%
of votes cast on winning side
Average for Senate Democrats is 79%.
πŸ”΄ 77%
of votes cast on side taken by most Republicans
Average for Senate Democrats is 76%.
πŸ”΅ 97%
of votes cast on side taken by most Democrats
Average for Senate Democrats is 95%.
O'Brien has been marked absent or excused for 0 votes. Average for Senate lawmakers is 4.1.

Committee assignments

  • Senate Taxation - Vice Chair
  • Senate Education and Cultural Resources
  • Senate Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation
  • Senate Ethics
  • Senate Rules
  • Senate Legislative Administration
  • Joint Rules

SD 46 election results

Last in-cycle for Senate election in 2020. House seats are elected every two years, Senate seats every four.

General election vote, 2020

(D) SHANNON OBRIEN(D) 66%(R) 34%
Won by 32% (4,066 votes)

Party primary vote, 2020

(D) SHANNON OBRIEN(D) 68%(D) 32%
Won by 36% (1,875 votes)

Governor vote in district, 2020

(D) COONEY(D) 64%(R) 32%
Won by 32% (4,219 votes)

Montana Free Press coverage

MTFP legislative reporting involving O'Brien.
Nothing currently tagged in our archive.

About the 2023 Montana Free Press Capitol Tracker

This guide is an effort to make the quantifiable aspects of the Montana Legislature more accessible to the public by compiling information about lawmakers, proposed bills and the legislative process. This is a project of Montana Free Press, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit newsroom that aims to provide Montanans with in-depth, nonpartisan news coverage.

The information presented here is collected from a variety of sources including the Montana Legislature’s public roster and its official bill-tracking system, the Legislative Automated Workflow System, or LAWS. Reporting and web design was done primarily by MTFP Deputy Editor Eric Dietrich. Please contact him at edietrich@montanafreepress.org with bug reports, questions or suggestions.

Think there's a potential news story to be done about a bill or lawmaker you see here? Tell us at tips@montanafreepress.org.




Β© 2023 Montana Free Press. Privacy PolicyMTFP logo