2023 Capitol Tracker

The lawmakers, bills and votes of the 68th Montana Legislature

A digital guide by | Support this work
Last update: 9:27 PM Feb 2, 2023
πŸ“‘ Key billsπŸ—‚ All billsπŸ”Ž Find a billπŸ”Ž Find a lawmaker🏑 Your districtπŸ—“ CalendarπŸ“ What's happenedπŸ™‹ How to participate
πŸ› House
GOP-held 68-32
πŸ› Senate
GOP-held 34-16
πŸ–‹ Governor
Greg Gianforte (R)
Sen. Jeff Welborn, SD 36

Sen. Jeff Welborn

Eighth-session Republican from Dillon

Senate Natural Resources Chair

Representing Senate District 36
Dillon, Twin Bridges, Ennis

Welborn previously served in the Montana Senate in 2017, 2019 and 2021, as well as the House in 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2015.

Bills sponsored

πŸ“‹ SB 17: Revise oversight of stream gauge network
Jeff Welborn (R)πŸ“ƒ Bill text
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SB 41: Revise state land banking laws
✴️1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SR 44: Confirm governor's appointees for the board of water well contractors
✴️1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SR 45: Confirm governor's appointee for the board of environmental review
✴️1st Cmte.
Showing 4 of 4
Capitolized newsletter
Expert reporting and insight from the Montana Capitol, emailed Tuesdays and Fridays.

Key bill votes

Most recent votes on bills identified as notable by MTFP staff.
Welborn (R)OutcomeRepublicansDemocratsMotion
YESY (37-12)Y (34-0)N (3-12)
SB 85 – Do Pass
YESY (34-15)Y (34-0)N (0-15)
SB 121 – Do Pass

Floor vote statistics

Calculations based on 312 Senate floor votes in 2023 involving bills.
πŸ₯‡ 94%
of votes cast on winning side
Average for Senate Republicans is 93%.
πŸ”΄ 92%
of votes cast on side taken by most Republicans
Average for Senate Republicans is 94%.
πŸ”΅ 77%
of votes cast on side taken by most Democrats
Average for Senate Republicans is 74%.
Welborn has been marked absent or excused for 0 votes. Average for Senate lawmakers is 4.0.

Committee assignments

  • Senate Finance and Claims
  • Senate Natural Resources - Chair πŸͺ‘
  • Senate Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation
  • Senate Committee on Committees
  • Senate Rules
  • Joint Rules
  • Joint Appropriations Section C β€” Natural Resources and Transportation - Vice Chair

SD 36 election results

Last in-cycle for Senate election in 2020. House seats are elected every two years, Senate seats every four.

General election vote, 2020

(R) JEFF WELBORN(R) 80%(L) 20%
Won by 59% (7,820 votes)

Party primary vote, 2020

Ran unopposed

Governor vote in district, 2020

(R) GIANFORTE(R) 65%(D) 31%
Won by 34% (4,819 votes)

Montana Free Press coverage

MTFP legislative reporting involving Welborn.
πŸ“° 2023 Legislature
Abortion privacy bill clears major vote on Senate floor
Jan 25, 2023 β€’ Mara Silvers

About the 2023 Montana Free Press Capitol Tracker

This guide is an effort to make the quantifiable aspects of the Montana Legislature more accessible to the public by compiling information about lawmakers, proposed bills and the legislative process. This is a project of Montana Free Press, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit newsroom that aims to provide Montanans with in-depth, nonpartisan news coverage.

The information presented here is collected from a variety of sources including the Montana Legislature’s public roster and its official bill-tracking system, the Legislative Automated Workflow System, or LAWS. Reporting and web design was done primarily by MTFP Deputy Editor Eric Dietrich. Please contact him at edietrich@montanafreepress.org with bug reports, questions or suggestions.

Think there's a potential news story to be done about a bill or lawmaker you see here? Tell us at tips@montanafreepress.org.




Β© 2023 Montana Free Press. Privacy PolicyMTFP logo