2023 Capitol Tracker

The lawmakers, bills and votes of the 68th Montana Legislature

A digital guide by | Support this work
Last update: 10:41 PM Feb 3, 2023
πŸ“‘ Key billsπŸ—‚ All billsπŸ”Ž Find a billπŸ”Ž Find a lawmaker🏑 Your districtπŸ—“ CalendarπŸ“ What's happenedπŸ™‹ How to participate
πŸ› House
GOP-held 68-32
πŸ› Senate
GOP-held 34-16
πŸ–‹ Governor
Greg Gianforte (R)
Sen. Jen Gross, SD 25

Sen. Jen Gross

Fourth-session Democrat from Billings

Representing Senate District 25
Central Billings

Gross previously served in the Montana Senate in 2017, 2019 and 2021.

Bills sponsored

πŸ“‹ SB 2: Revise criminal intelligence information advisory council
Jen Gross (D)πŸ“ƒ Bill text
🚫1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SB 4: Require sharing of reports of abuse and neglect at Montana State Hospital
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SB 6: Gen. revise laws related to conditional release of crim. commitment defendant
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ SB 198: Revise laws related to behavioral health peer support specialists
✴️1st Cmte.
Showing 4 of 4
Capitolized newsletter
Expert reporting and insight from the Montana Capitol, emailed Tuesdays and Fridays.

Key bill votes

Most recent votes on bills identified as notable by MTFP staff.
Gross (D)OutcomeRepublicansDemocratsMotion
NOY (37-12)Y (34-0)N (3-12)
SB 85 – Do Pass
NOY (7-4)Y (7-0)N (0-4)
SB 99 – Sen. Usher made a Motion that SB 99 Do Pass as Amended
NOY (47-2)Y (34-0)Y (13-2)
SB 115 – Do Pass
NOY (34-15)Y (34-0)N (0-15)
SB 121 – Do Pass
NOY (28-21)Y (28-6)N (0-15)
SB 154 – Do Pass
NOY (33-17)Y (33-1)N (0-16)
SB 191 – Do Pass

Floor vote statistics

Calculations based on 342 Senate floor votes in 2023 involving bills.
πŸ₯‡ 74%
of votes cast on winning side
Average for Senate Democrats is 79%.
πŸ”΄ 71%
of votes cast on side taken by most Republicans
Average for Senate Democrats is 76%.
πŸ”΅ 94%
of votes cast on side taken by most Democrats
Average for Senate Democrats is 95%.
Gross has been marked absent or excused for 27 votes. Average for Senate lawmakers is 4.1.

Committee assignments

  • Senate Judiciary - Vice Chair
  • Senate Public Health, Welfare and Safety
  • Senate Highways and Transportation
  • Senate Legislative Administration

SD 25 election results

Last in-cycle for Senate election in 2020. House seats are elected every two years, Senate seats every four.

General election vote, 2020

(D) JEN GROSS(D) 51%(R) 49%
Won by 3% (234 votes)

Party primary vote, 2020

(D) JEN GROSS(D) 100%
Ran unopposed

Governor vote in district, 2020

(D) COONEY(D) 49%(R) 44%
Won by 4% (345 votes)

Montana Free Press coverage

MTFP legislative reporting involving Gross.
Nothing currently tagged in our archive.

About the 2023 Montana Free Press Capitol Tracker

This guide is an effort to make the quantifiable aspects of the Montana Legislature more accessible to the public by compiling information about lawmakers, proposed bills and the legislative process. This is a project of Montana Free Press, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit newsroom that aims to provide Montanans with in-depth, nonpartisan news coverage.

The information presented here is collected from a variety of sources including the Montana Legislature’s public roster and its official bill-tracking system, the Legislative Automated Workflow System, or LAWS. Reporting and web design was done primarily by MTFP Deputy Editor Eric Dietrich. Please contact him at edietrich@montanafreepress.org with bug reports, questions or suggestions.

Think there's a potential news story to be done about a bill or lawmaker you see here? Tell us at tips@montanafreepress.org.




Β© 2023 Montana Free Press. Privacy PolicyMTFP logo