2023 Capitol Tracker

The lawmakers, bills and votes of the 68th Montana Legislature

A digital guide by | Support this work
Last update: 10:41 PM Feb 3, 2023
πŸ“‘ Key billsπŸ—‚ All billsπŸ”Ž Find a billπŸ”Ž Find a lawmaker🏑 Your districtπŸ—“ CalendarπŸ“ What's happenedπŸ™‹ How to participate
πŸ› House
GOP-held 68-32
πŸ› Senate
GOP-held 34-16
πŸ–‹ Governor
Greg Gianforte (R)
Rep. Casey Knudsen, HD 33

Rep. Casey Knudsen

Fourth-session Republican from Malta

House Rules Chair

Representing House District 33
Malta, Glasgow, Chinook

Knudsen previously served in the Montana House in 2017, 2019 and 2021.

Bills sponsored

πŸ“‹ HR 1: House rules resolution
Casey Knudsen (R)πŸ“ƒ Bill textπŸ“° 1 MTFP story
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ HB 99: Eliminate reference to non-resident temporary snowmobile permit
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ HB 364: Allow for independent subdivision reviews for past due applications
✴️1st Cmte.
Showing 3 of 3
Capitolized newsletter
Expert reporting and insight from the Montana Capitol, emailed Tuesdays and Fridays.

Key bill votes

Most recent votes on bills identified as notable by MTFP staff.
Knudsen (R)OutcomeRepublicansDemocratsMotion
YESY (90-9)Y (64-3)Y (26-6)
HB 29 – Do Pass
YESY (100-0)Y (68-0)Y (32-0)
HB 37 – Do Pass
YESY (92-8)Y (65-3)Y (27-5)
HB 60 – Do Pass
YESY (81-19)Y (65-3)N (16-16)
HB 172 – Do Pass
YESY (70-29)Y (68-0)N (2-29)
HB 192 – Do Pass
YESY (67-32)Y (67-1)N (0-31)
HB 212 – Do Pass
YESY (69-30)Y (68-0)N (1-30)
HB 222 – Do Pass
NOY (12-7)Y (12-1)N (0-6)
HB 234 – Rep. Ler made a Motion that HB 234 Do Pass as Amended
YESY (70-25)Y (65-0)N (5-25)
HB 251 – Do Pass

Floor vote statistics

Calculations based on 423 House floor votes in 2023 involving bills.
πŸ₯‡ 94%
of votes cast on winning side
Average for House Republicans is 95%.
πŸ”΄ 95%
of votes cast on side taken by most Republicans
Average for House Republicans is 95%.
πŸ”΅ 79%
of votes cast on side taken by most Democrats
Average for House Republicans is 80%.
Knudsen has been marked absent or excused for 0 votes. Average for House lawmakers is 3.6.

Committee assignments

  • House Judiciary
  • House Energy, Technology and Federal Relations
  • House Agriculture
  • House Rules - Chair πŸͺ‘
  • Joint Rules - Chair πŸͺ‘

HD 33 election results

Last in-cycle for House election in 2022. House seats are elected every two years, Senate seats every four.

General election vote, 2022

Won by 54% (2,041 votes)

Party primary vote, 2022

Ran unopposed

Governor vote in district, 2020

(R) GIANFORTE(R) 70%(D) 26%
Won by 43% (2,222 votes)

Montana Free Press coverage

MTFP legislative reporting involving Knudsen.
πŸ“° 2023 Legislature
House rules package passes key hurdle
Jan 4, 2023 β€’ Arren Kimbel-Sannit

About the 2023 Montana Free Press Capitol Tracker

This guide is an effort to make the quantifiable aspects of the Montana Legislature more accessible to the public by compiling information about lawmakers, proposed bills and the legislative process. This is a project of Montana Free Press, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit newsroom that aims to provide Montanans with in-depth, nonpartisan news coverage.

The information presented here is collected from a variety of sources including the Montana Legislature’s public roster and its official bill-tracking system, the Legislative Automated Workflow System, or LAWS. Reporting and web design was done primarily by MTFP Deputy Editor Eric Dietrich. Please contact him at edietrich@montanafreepress.org with bug reports, questions or suggestions.

Think there's a potential news story to be done about a bill or lawmaker you see here? Tell us at tips@montanafreepress.org.




Β© 2023 Montana Free Press. Privacy PolicyMTFP logo