2023 Capitol Tracker

The lawmakers, bills and votes of the 68th Montana Legislature

A digital guide by | Support this work
Last update: 9:27 PM Feb 3, 2023
πŸ“‘ Key billsπŸ—‚ All billsπŸ”Ž Find a billπŸ”Ž Find a lawmaker🏑 Your districtπŸ—“ CalendarπŸ“ What's happenedπŸ™‹ How to participate
πŸ› House
GOP-held 68-32
πŸ› Senate
GOP-held 34-16
πŸ–‹ Governor
Greg Gianforte (R)
Rep. Neil Duram, HD 2

Rep. Neil Duram

Third-session Republican from Eureka

Representing House District 2

Duram previously served in the Montana House in 2019 and 2021.

Bills sponsored

πŸ“‹ HB 27: Providing notice of nonstandard penalties for certain traffic violations
Neil Duram (R)πŸ“ƒ Bill text
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ HB 46: Revise point of fuel taxation first receivership laws
✴️1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ HB 179: Revise careless driving laws
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ HB 180: Revise municipal police officers retirement laws
βœ…1st Cmte.
πŸ“‹ HB 320: Generally revise motor vehicle laws
✴️1st Cmte.
Showing 5 of 5
Capitolized newsletter
Expert reporting and insight from the Montana Capitol, emailed Tuesdays and Fridays.

Key bill votes

Most recent votes on bills identified as notable by MTFP staff.
Duram (R)OutcomeRepublicansDemocratsMotion
YESY (92-8)Y (65-3)Y (27-5)
HB 60 – Do Pass
YESY (70-29)Y (68-0)N (2-29)
HB 192 – Do Pass
YESY (67-32)Y (67-1)N (0-31)
HB 212 – Do Pass
YESY (69-30)Y (68-0)N (1-30)
HB 222 – Do Pass
YESY (70-25)Y (65-0)N (5-25)
HB 251 – Do Pass

Floor vote statistics

Calculations based on 423 House floor votes in 2023 involving bills.
πŸ₯‡ 91%
of votes cast on winning side
Average for House Republicans is 95%.
πŸ”΄ 92%
of votes cast on side taken by most Republicans
Average for House Republicans is 95%.
πŸ”΅ 77%
of votes cast on side taken by most Democrats
Average for House Republicans is 80%.
Duram has been marked absent or excused for 0 votes. Average for House lawmakers is 3.6.

Committee assignments

  • House Judiciary
  • House Transportation - Vice Chair
  • House Fish, Wildlife and Parks
  • House Rules
  • Joint Rules

HD 2 election results

Last in-cycle for House election in 2022. House seats are elected every two years, Senate seats every four.

General election vote, 2022

(R) NEIL A. DURAM(R) 100%
Ran unopposed

Party primary vote, 2022

(R) NEIL A. DURAM(R) 100%
Ran unopposed

Governor vote in district, 2020

(R) GIANFORTE(R) 73%(D) 23%
Won by 50% (3,209 votes)

Montana Free Press coverage

MTFP legislative reporting involving Duram.
Nothing currently tagged in our archive.

About the 2023 Montana Free Press Capitol Tracker

This guide is an effort to make the quantifiable aspects of the Montana Legislature more accessible to the public by compiling information about lawmakers, proposed bills and the legislative process. This is a project of Montana Free Press, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit newsroom that aims to provide Montanans with in-depth, nonpartisan news coverage.

The information presented here is collected from a variety of sources including the Montana Legislature’s public roster and its official bill-tracking system, the Legislative Automated Workflow System, or LAWS. Reporting and web design was done primarily by MTFP Deputy Editor Eric Dietrich. Please contact him at edietrich@montanafreepress.org with bug reports, questions or suggestions.

Think there's a potential news story to be done about a bill or lawmaker you see here? Tell us at tips@montanafreepress.org.




Β© 2023 Montana Free Press. Privacy PolicyMTFP logo